Google Adsense revenue has got to be one of the simplest and most convenient forms of passive income I have ever gotten myself into.
For quite a few months now I’ve been receiving close to $500 per month just from being an Adsense affiliate.
$500 per month; can you believe that? That’s practically a car payment. And the best part is that it requires little to no effort on my part to earn it.
Though there are many factors that affect how much money you’ll earn from Google Adsense, one of the biggest things I’ve come to realize is that you need to start with a good strategy if you expect to get any revenue. Questions like “should I write a post about this or that” can make or break whether you’ll get a few bucks per click or just a few pennies.
If you’ve got a website (or several) and are looking to get more out of your Adsense income than what you’re currently making, then I’ve got a simple strategy that you may find to be helpful.
Step 1 – Research Low Competition Keywords:
As we’ve mentioned before, finding and writing posts around low competition long-tail keywords is really the BIG secret to getting lots of organic traffic from Google (i.e. the people most likely to click on your ads).
How does that work? Consider this example: It would be foolish to try to write a post where the main keyword is “personal finance” because you’ll never, ever rank in the Top 10 for that post due to too much competition with monster-sized authority websites.
However ranking for the keyword “personal financial management course” is going to be lot easier because not as many strong websites will be optimized for that term.
What to do: First things first, pick a few topics you’d like to write about and research the Top 10 results in Google to see if you have any chance at all of getting your post to rank. The software program Long Tail Pro Platinum makes this a breeze! All you do is type in your topics and it gives each term a keyword competitiveness (KC) score between 0-100 where lower is better. I’ll only use keywords with a KC score of 35 or less.
As you find more and more good keywords, export them into a single Excel spreadsheet for further analysis.
Step 2 – The MMD Potential Adsense Revenue Equation:
Now that you’ve got all these great, low-competition keywords, the next question is “which ones should I start with first”?
In this next step I’m going to share my own unique equation for quantifying that question.
Here’s what you do:
- Because you plan to make money from this post using Adsense, take the stated CPC and multiply it times the average number of local searches.
- Assuming we’ve done our job and our post is ranking in the Google Top 10 (very, very important), we still know that every person is going to click on our post. In fact looking though Google Webmaster Tools, I’ve actually found my most searched posts to be more in the 25% click through range. So to generalize things, let’s multiply our number by 0.25.
- We know that not every single visitor who actually reads our post will click on our ads. But odds are some of them will. You can comb through your Google Adsense to get a good idea of what your actual CTR is. But for our purposes, I’ll use 1%. So multiply your number by 0.01.
- Now remember Google doesn’t pay you all 100% of the CPC that they receive from the advertiser. They have publicly stated that what they really pay Adsense publishers is 68% of revenue collected. So let’s finish by multiplying our number by 0.68.
To summarize my equation, here it is again:
Potential monthly income = CPC x Local searches x 0.25 x 0.01 x 0.68
And there you have it. It’s extremely easy to pop that equation into a new column in your spreadsheet and crunch the results.
I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised to see just how large the range of some of the results actually are!
Step 3 – Write and Rank Your Post!
Now that you’ve got a good list of low competition keywords and the potential monthly income you could make from each one, the only thing left to do is write those posts and get them ranking in the Top 10.
I usually like to order my list from largest earning potential to smallest and then work my way down. That way I’m strategically focusing on my top potential income makers first.
It doesn’t matter whether I write the post or outsource it. Since I use freelance writers to write most of the content I use, I just simply send them the list of keywords I’d like them to write about so can cast as wide of a net as possible.
Remember! The cornerstone to this whole Adsense revenue strategy is that it assumes your post is ranking in the Top 10 Google search results. That means you’ll have to do all the right SEO stuff like on-page optimization (keyword density, headings, meta description, etc) as well as off-page optimization (links from other sources, anchor text diversification).
When To Pass Up This Equation:
When shouldn’t you use this equation? Easy: When you’re not counting on using Adsense for monetization.
If you do your keyword research and find a great term that gets 10,000 searches per month by has no CPC, should you pass it up? Absolutely not! Perhaps you’re using a different affiliate program (like Amazon or CJ). Chances are that if you could get 10,000 x 25% = 2,500 people to visit your post and see your other affiliate ad. Then you might still get 25-50 people to click on it and earn you some revenue.
Remember: It’s all relative to what your most wanted response is when people actually visit your blog.
Readers: What tricks do you use to increase your Google Adsense revenue? Does anyone else have a whacky algorithm they use help quantify their earnings potential?
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